Damn Good Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

So tonight I wanted to do some baking. My first thought was to make some chocolate chip cookies, but the biggest cookie sheet that will fit in Curt probably will only hold 6 or so cookies, which means I’d have to do 3-4 batches to bake all the cookies. But I do have my trusty little casserole pan which can fit some delicious deep dish cookies with much less effort. I looked up a few recipes for cookie bars then of course adapted my own.


 

Based on the ingredients I had, I decided on Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars with a Oreo Crust… because I still have Oreo wafers leftover  from my pumpkin pie, they were taking up room. It also all just sounded so good all together.

I started by trying to smash up the chocolate oreo wafer cookies with a wine bottle. I was not very successful… but they were a little smaller than they were when I started.

image

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But it was good enough so I added some melted butter and spread them out in a foil lined pan, for easy clean-up and ease of serving. Since they were so chunky, I did my best to make sure they were even but I knew they would be held together by the dough. *If you have a food processor, just use that. This doesn’t work great.

image

Next for the dough. Pretty classic cookie dough, I shorted a normal recipe so it’d all fit in my little pan.

Started with Flour, Sugar (Brown and white), Baking soda.

image

Then an egg, vanilla, and almond milk. Then I mushed it all together.

image

Once it was well combined I added peanut butter, stirred that until it was all peachy and added chocolate chips!

image

Finally I spread the dough on top to the cookie crust, evenly and carefully without messing up the crust.

image

Not too shabby… Curt your up! Do your thing at 350°

image

No I had no idea how long it would take, but it went really fast. Dunno how fast cause I didn’t set a timer, but I was worried the top was just getting brown but the insides were gonna be gooey. So I turned the temp down to 250° for another 10 minutes then pulled them out.

image

The smell is amazing! I let them cool for quite a while, then tried a chunk… and it was killer, so decadent.

image

Then the next day I lifted out the foil and cut the bars up into easy serve pieces to share with my peeps!

image

Approximate Recipe is as Follows…

1 1/2 cup Flour

1/3 cup White Sugar

1/3 cup Brown Sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 egg

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup almond milk

1/2 peanut butter

1 – 3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/2 package of famous chocolate wafers (Crust)

Instructions – Above

Hindsights 20/20, I recommend — Bake 325° for 20 min until golden brown.

 

Sharing is caring and delicious! ~M 

Leave a Reply

