Orange Zest-y Brownies

I’ve been wanting to learn how to make brownies from scratch for a while now, but just haven’t gotten around to it. Then about a month ago, I had some thin brownies with orange zest in them and I thought to myself… Damn I gotta make these.

So I started looking up recipes online, and many many off them require a stove top or double broiler. Then I found a simpler one that just needed boiling water!

3⁄4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1⁄2 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup canola oil

1⁄2 cup boiling water

2 cups white sugar

2 eggs

1 1⁄3 cups flour

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt
I added extra chocolate and orange zest to this recipe.

I started with the cocoa powder and baking soda and just 1/3 c of the canola oil, then shaved in some chocolate off a big bar I had.

Then I added boiling water, I just microwaved a mug of water for way longer than I felt comfortable microwaving it or until I saw steam on the window. (Little tip, this is an easy way to clean your microwave, microwave water, then wipe down the inside of the microwave). Once I added the water I quickly stirred the mixture to melt the chocolate and activate the cocoa- if you got a whisk use it!!!

Then add sugar, eggs, and the rest of the canola oil.

Then I worked on zesting in the orange … And word to the wise, oranges get slippery when you take off their skin. Please read this, and don’t just look at the pictures… DO NOT add the entire orange.

Finally I added vanilla, flour and salt. And mixed until everything was brown.


Then into a buttered up pan an into Curt at 325. Now I always cook brownies from the box at a little lower than the recommended temperature so they’re extra fudgey. They cooked quick… About 15 minutes.


Then I chopped them into bite sized pieces, cause no one ever takes a whole brownie. But now I bet everyone will take 3 or 4.


Sunday Chocolate Sunday ❤️
~ M

Leave a Reply

