Blueberry French Toast Bake 

I was craving French Toast this morning, but one little hiccup… The only way I know how to make French Toast involves a stove top. So I looked up a few recipes for French Toast in a casserole pan in the oven. Many of them involved soaking the whole pan in the fridge overnight, but it’s Sunday morning and I want French toast now. So I decided to whip up something and hope for the best.

One of my favorite French Toast dishes in town is made with baguettes, so I got me a pretty French Baguette and sliced it up.

Then I lined them up in a buttered pan.

Then I mixed up eggs, cream, brown sugar, vanilla and cinnamon.

I poured the mixture slowly over the bread. I wanted to make sure the bread soaked the mixture all up, so I stuck it in the fridge for about and hour.

When I pulled the pan out of the fridge some of the slices still looked dry, so I whipped up a few more eggs, cream, vanilla and brown sugar. And poured it in again.

Then for the various accoutrements. I new these would be rich do I needed a little tartness and acid. I decided on lemon zest, cream cheese and blueberries.

Now most recipes had this all cook at 350, for about half an hour, but Curt cooks fast and would dry out the top and miss the bottom if I let it go at 350. So I put this gorgeous pan in at 300 for 30mins, then up to 375 for about 5 mins to crisp up the top. My mouth was watering before I could even put on the hot mitts.


Blueberry French Toast Bake (Including the second add of egg mixture)
1 French Baguettes

5 eggs

1 1/2 cups half and half/cream/milk

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon
Lemon zest

Blueberries

Cream cheese

(Or whatever else you’d like to add)


And yes I ate all of it myself this lazy Sunday!

~M

Leave a Reply

