Celery Another Way

Earlier this week I bought some celery with the plan to take it to work as a healthy snack, but as it turns out, I don’t really like raw celery. So I had a whole tub of nicely chopped celery sticks, and no interest in eating them. I wondered… Can you cook celery? Will it taste any different? Only one way to find out.

I browsed some recipes on Pinterest, and saw very few things I could make without a stove top, but that never stops me.

So I chopped up my celery sticks, into small pieces.

img_0432

Spread these pieces out in my pest pan, with just a few pats of butter (not pictured, sorry) and some salt and pepper.

And started roasting at 400 degrees.

Then I made a mixture of water, minced garlic and lemon juice. After ten minutes of roasting, I added this mixture to my little celery and covered the pan with foil.

img_0434-1
After about 20 more minutes, the celery was fork tender.

I scooped it all into a bowl, and took a tentative first bite. As it turns it out, butter and lemon juice will make anything take real good. The celery still has it’s nutty taste, but a nice richness. I will definitely be doing this again …. if I ever buy celery again.

img_0439

Confused, content and fed

~M


Leave a Reply

