NEW! Grandmas Celery Casserole

My grandma has been following my blog and was intrigued by my adventure with celery. It reminded her of a recipe she used to make and her mother before her used to make, Celery Casserole! She said I should give it a shot and put my own spin on it, so I did.
This was the recipe she gave me.

I knew I wanted to use a different kind of soup, and wasn’t sure I’d be able to find canned pimentos. I also decided to add potatoes for a little extra fortification.


I started by dicing up the celery. I love the nutty smell of celery, but reminded myself that I don’t like it raw… So I shouldn’t eat a piece.

I found these steamer ziplock bags online and have been waiting to try them out on the right thing. I added about 2 cups of celery to the bag. As well as a shot of vegan chicken-like stock. (Found in a powder form at Whole Foods, perfect for my once-in-a-while need for stock)


Once sealed the bag cooked for about 3-4 mins in the microwave until the celery was just tender.

I used my favorite kitchen tool to thinly slice some fingerling potatoes. I can’t stress this enough – this is the best tool ever!

I took these potatoes and lined my ungreased pan. Then popped the pan into Curt on broil for 5 mins.

Then I activated the cream of corn soup, another exciting discovery in the bull second at Whole Foods. A bowl of hot water and a few scoops of the freeze dried mix and a bit of steeping, and I had some thick creamy soup.

I added half a tin of water chestnuts to the celery.

Then folded in the soup, and slivered almonds.

I poured the whole mixture carefully over the potatoes in my pan.

Finally I mixed together some melted butter and breadcrumbs and topped the mixture with it.


Curt was up to bat at 350 for 25-30 minutes until the top was golden brown.


Then for the final taste! It smells so good! But tastes even better!


My final recipe was as follows: New Celery Casserole.

2 cups Celery

3 oz water chestnuts

4 golden fingerling potatoes

1/4 cup slivered toasted almonds

1 1/2 cup cream of corn soup

1/2 cup Breadcrumbs

3 tbsp melted butter

2 oz stock
Old is new again! 

~M

Leave a Reply

