Classic Closet Pesto 

I’ve never made pesto from scratch, so I suppose this recipe was a long time coming. I saw that the basil plants at TJ were flourishing… So I bought one! The plants are way cheaper than the containers, so whenever I need basil just get the whole plant and pick it myself.
I started with one of my favorite nuts… Which sadly also happens to be one of the pricier nuts. Pine nuts!! I lighted toasted them until they were a just a little golden.

Then started piling things into my party bullet (blender). I started with some crushed garlic.

Then my pretty pine nuts.

Lots and lots of basil.

A little bit of kale and lemon juice.

Parmesan cheese.

Olive oil, and a splash of cold water. Then it was fingers crossed, press and twist. Bullets away!

It took a little time, but slowly all these amazing ingredients started to swirl into a beautiful green masterpiece.

Ta-Da!

I decided give this a taste in one of my favorite dishes – Caprese! Just Heirloom tomatoes, mozzarella and my Closet Pesto!

Here’s my approximate recipe for Classic Closet Pesto…
1 tbsp crushed garlic

1/4 cup toasted pine nuts

1 1/2 cups of basil

1/2 cup kale

3 tbsp parm cheese

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tbsp cold water

S&P to taste
*You can vary the amonunt of greens and oil until you get the consistency you desire. 

So I’m pretty certain that everything I eat this week will have pesto on it… Gonna be a great week. Yum!

~M

Leave a Reply

