Vegan Pancakes 

Once in a while I get a craving for pancakes… Last week I got one of these cravings late at night. But was missing a few of the essential ingredients, so they became vegan pancakes.
I’d read that you can substitute eggs with flax whipped together with a water making a “flax egg”. So the other night when I realized the only eggs I had were hard boiled, I decided to give it a try.

You start with 1 tbsp of flax meal and 3 tbsp and whip until the mixture is slightly creamy – the approximate consistency of an egg. Makes since right.


It’s started to look like I imagine it’s supposed to, so I moved on. Rather than butter I used one of my always available frozen bananas and mashed it into the flax.
Then I forgot to take a picture…
Then added some sugar, wheat flour, baking powder, and salt.


I mixed it up a bit.


Added some almond milk, and cinnamon.

It the reached the perfect consistency- much the same as non vegan pancakes.

Then I had to broach the issue of cooking. Traditionally pancakes need a griddle, but obviously I don’t have one of those. So I figured a glass pan well greased in curt would do the trick. I heated up the pan in Curt around 400.

I poured on some batter and hoped for the best. I babysat this carefully checking it every minute or so, in the same obnoxious way I do pancakes on a stove.

After about five minutes it was cooked through, so I pulled it out. But it did not come off the pan cleanly. It was still the right consistently and so delicious.


I added more coconut oil and gave it another shot, but it still did not come off clean again. But still totally edible and so good.

Xoxo

~M

Leave a Reply

